The Maynard Web

Maynard History

Maynard's First Warrant
27 April 1871

Town of Maynard

Town Warrant No. 1

I, Joseph W. Reed, one of the Justices of the Peace within and for the County of Middlesex, do issue the following warrant:

"In the name of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts you are hereby required to warn and notify Inhabitants of the Town of Maynard, qualified to vote in town affairs, to meet at Riverside Hall in said Town on Thursday, the twenty-seventh day of April current at one of the clock in the afternoon to act on the following articles, to wit:-

"First, to choose a moderator to preside at said meeting."
"Second, to choose all such town officers for the year ensuing, as towns are by law authorized and required to choose at their annual meeting."


27 APRIL, 1871

Mr. Asahel Balcom was unanimously chosen as Moderator.

The following Town Officials were chosen:

SELECTMEN: Asahel Balcom, Henry Fowler, Jonathon Bent
CLERK: Eli Chase
ASSESSORS: Asahel Balcom, Artemas Whitney, Benjamin Conant
CONSTABLES: Fred Fletcher, Artemas Whitney, Benjamin Conant
SCHOOL COMMITTEE: John Vose, John Hillis, William Harding
FIELD DRIVERS: Benjamin Smith, Hollis Balcom
FENCE VIEWERS: Joel Abbott, Jonathon Bent, Silas Brooks
HIGHWAY SURVEYORS: Thomas Brooks, Artemas Whitney, Henry Fowler
SURVEYORS OF LUMBER: Abel Haynes, Asahel Balcom, B.R. Moore, Samuel Potter, J.H. Allen
FIRE WARDENS: George Cutting, J.K. Harriman, William Cullen.
  Copyright , WAVM, Maynard Massachusetts.
This page was revised on: November 27, 2000